Skills needed by employee with new work from home norm

Work From home (WFH) is a concept where the employee can do his or her job from home. Work from home gives flexible working hours to the employee as well as the job for the employer is done with ease. Work from home is helpful to delivering work life balance to the employee, and also parallelly helps the company to get the work done. Nowadays, most of the employers are offering this option to their employees. Work from home (or working from home) is a modern work approach enabled through internet and mobility wherein irrespective of the physical location of an individual work can be done. Work from Home is also known as Working remotely or telecommuting which implies that the employee is working from a remote location usually home. On The Star news, Sunday, 28 Mar 2021 By YUEN MEIKENG, the movement control order to stop the spread of Covid-19 has triggered an important side effect: the growth of work from home (WFH) culture in Malaysia today and the practice is set to continue even after the pandemic, with the Human Resources Ministry proposing to amend the Employment Act to support it, but the idea to continue WFH post-pandemic has been met with split views – it’s a “yes” from the civil service and mostly “no” from private sector bosses. Most employers in the private sector prefer workers to return to the office when the pandemic is over, but they are open to changes. In the public sector, civil servants have done well WFH and it will definitely be a long-term policy beyond the pandemic, says the Public Service Department. “Such a practice will continue even after the National Covid-19 Immunization Programmed, ”the department tells Sunday Star. Once the MCO was imposed at the beginning of the pandemic in March 2020 and people began WFH, the public sector swiftly adapted to this culture, the department says. “A circular was issued by the department to improve the public service delivery system and to strike a balance between fulfilling work duties and employee well-being. The pandemic sweeping the world, COVID-19, has rendered a large proportion of the workforce unable to commute to work, as to mitigate the spread of the virus. This has resulted in both employers and employees seeking alternative work arrangements, especially in a fast-paced metropolitan like Hong Kong. Due to the pandemic, most if not all workers experienced work from home (WFH). Hence WFH has become a policy priority for most governments. In doing so, the policies must be made keeping in mind the practicality for both employers and employees. However, this current situation provides unique insight into how well working from home works, and may play a vital role in future policies that reshape the current structure of working hours, possibly allowing for more flexibility. Using an exploratory framework and a SWOT analysis, this study investigates the continuing experience of the employer and employees face in Hong Kong. A critical insight and related recommendations have been developed for future policy decisions. It will also critically investigate if this work arrangement will remain as a transitory element responding to the exceptional circumstances, or whether it could be a permanent arrangement. The work from home as a concept is very important in current times. It helps to keep productivity of the employee same or even better and at the same time supports the employee for being with family or handling some personal work. Also in the case the employee is facing some health issue of self or family, Work from Home (WFH) can be a great tool for helping employee stay at home and work at the same time. In 2020, during Coronavirus (COVID-19) Pandemic, Work from Home enabled many companies to remain productive and keep themselves relevant. Roles like IT, Management, Designing, Media etc. continued to work with the WFH option. There are many advantages while working from home. There is more job applicant for a particular job with certain people with location constraint or disabled people can apply for the job. Even parents with children who tend to leave job can be retained for the job. There is more work life balance. Many people claim that a more quieter or friendly atmosphere is found at home which helps to concentrate on the work as well as they can complete the assigned work quickly. There is a lot of savings with respect to cost of office infrastructure like spaces, electricity bills etc. Employees feel motivated as they get a good work life balance, and improves their productivity. Moreover, there are many disadvantages as well. There is always a major problem with monitoring the work. The cost of technological infrastructure that is required for implementing the concept. There is always a security problem with data being transferred and that can’t be monitored easily. All jobs doesn’t is not suitable for work from home concept. Sometimes communication problem between employees makes it problematic for a job. There are both advantages and disadvantages with this work from home concept. But still most companies are offering this to its employees and this has been a new trend these days. However some people think the ideal way should be splitting the week with some days working from home and other days visiting office, by doing that many of the pitfalls can be taken care of. So this depends on employers which procedure to follow.