more and more people are moving form countryside to cities. why is this happening? is this a positive or negative development

Nowadays, the number of people that are migrating from the countryside to the cities is continuously increasing. In this essay, I will examine the underlying reasons why people migrate to cities and explain why this is a negative trend to society. There are several reasons behind the increasing number of people migrating to cities. Firstly, modern cities can offer better infrastructure for living. Infrastructure in modern cities will definitely continue to grow better to keep up with the demand of economic development and population growth. In contrast, the countryside has limited infrastructure like transport systems and telecommunication networks. Secondly, modern cities can offer various job vacancies with high salaries. This gives them the opportunity to have a greater earning power in order to improve their standard of living. However, this migration is harming modern city society. The wave of migration from the countryside will create overpopulated cities, which consequently cause environmental degradation that is leading to climate change. For example, the use of transportation increased, thus causing spikes in pollution and emissions. Not only did it harm the environment, but also cause a rise in unemployment. There will be fewer job vacancies to support a large number of people, which can lead to an increased crime rate since people must survive to fulfill their basic life needs. To summarize, modern sites can offer better infrastructure for living and various job vacancies with high salaries, thus making people choose to migrate from the countryside to the cities. However, the migration will create modern cities to overpopulate and lead to new problems. I, therefore, remain firmly convinced that the migration can only be seen as a negative for society.