SKILL EDUCATION AND ENTERPRENUERSHIP FOR ATAMNIRBHAR BHARAT

Atmanirbhar means 'self-reliant'. The aim of Atmanirbhar Bharat campaign is to make country and its citizens especially the youth of the country independent and self-reliant in all senses. The New National Education Policy 2020 is also oriented towards Atmanirbhar Bharat with its emphasis on skill and training and prioritization of vernacular language not only at primary level but also in higher education as well. The New Education Policy will bring out trained professionals making them self-reliant. It will also open up the education sector for facilitating greater global exposure for Indian students. For instance, in times of crisis, India is able to serve the world because India, today, is capable of medicines and vaccine, is self-sufficient. This is also the idea of Atmanirbhar Bharat campaign. The more capable India is, the more it will serve the humanity and the more the world will benefit. Prof. Unnat P. Pandit (Intellectual property management cell, Jawaharlal Nehru University, Delhi) opines that the journey towards the skill education, innovation and entrepreneurship should start with the building the research aptitude in the students. Skill education and entrepreneurship is not a subject but it is an area to nurture and for nurturing, educational policy should emphasize the students by exposing them to the social problems as their research work. Owing to which the students will understand the problem, find out the rooting cause and try to develop the solution. This will help in building their intellectual capacity and they will also gain the innovative knowledge. The simple way to learn about the skill, innovation and entrepreneurship is practice-theory-practice. Firstly, let the student learn the problem identification and observe it’s rooting cause. The more the student practice, the more he can discover about the problem. Secondly, once the identification of rooting cause has been done, then they should start working towards learning the theory. And at last, the student should address the root cause and attempt to develop the solution for the challenges by doing more and more practice. It is the time for academic institution to grow the futuristic skill and this can be improve if the skill education catalyzed the innovation potential among the students and nurture them towards the entrepreneurship. This is the major objective behind emphasizing the skill, innovation and entrepreneurship in the education policy and build the ecosystem in the academic institution.