Since the turn of the millennium an increasing number of people have switched from reading traditional books to electronic media

Nowadays, in many countries, people have turned from reading printed books to online reading materials. This essay will firstly discuss the main reason that why this is happening and secondly, look at the effects this is having on society. Firstly, _ technology has been developed all over the world, so people can access everything instantly, whereas a few decades back people read only paper news and magazines. _ For example, recently one private television channel conducted one survey and reported that older people have less knowledge about the current affairs than the younger generation as they are not very familiar with online resources, thus, their knowledge is limited to old news and incidents. Conversely, the latest generation people can easily answer a wide range of questions about recent world politics, films and technologies _ because of the technology revolution. Secondly, this has created immense awareness in their life and education. Everyone has mobile applications in order to study their subjects _ online with a large number of online classes available to the students which makes it more effective in terms of skill development. For example, _ Sky news television channel reported that people’s _ technical skills have been sharpened because of media communications such as television, radio, and online newspaper which improves their economic growth and employment opportunities _ overseas. ¬¬ In conclusion, younger generations and children are shifting to online media from regular book reading. Governments should make policies and plans to promote the information media and should implement _ lower charges for internet and mobile data in order to provide internet for everyone.