Since 2016, I love to study the interaction between microbes and plants. This actually started when I and my colleague did a plant tissue culture experiment on mangrove, Avicennia marina.

Since 2016, I love to study the interaction between microbes and plants. This actually started when I and my colleague did a plant tissue culture experiment on mangrove, Avicennia marina. The experiment didn’t go well, due to contamination after 15-20 days of culture. We then decided to isolate the contaminants, which were all characterized as Bacillus. Then, we knew that the microbes that live inside the plant, called endophytes, are highly potential in agriculture, especially to increase the plant’s recistancy against pathogens, as well as to produce hormone to promote plant’s growth. Moreover, since Indonesia is one of agrarian countries, it is a lot of problems to be addressed related to agricultural issues. My future expertise in this study will bring benefit not only for me as academician, but also for the farmers, the environment, as well as the society. When I come back to Indonesia after I finish my PhD study, I plan to give more concern to environmental and agricultural problems, such as to faster the growth of forest plants to compete with deforestation, also to protect the plants from pathogens.