negative consequences because people arent self isolating.

To the public Everyone should follow health and safety procedures to avoid negative consequences. In New Zealand, we are still dealing with Covid-19. We have done extremely well dealing with the global pandemic and have been able to come out of lockdown, but people are breaking rules and increasing everyone's chances of catching Covid-19. We have a 4 tiered alert level system. This means that we have 4 levels of health and safety. If you ever feel sick, or if you see someone you think is sick, that is the time to follow correct health and safety procedures. Currently, we sit in level 1. This does not mean we can relax. We still have to be aware of our surroundings and actions. However, when we are surrounded by unreasonable individuals who don't realize our country is still fighting against Covid-19 everyone's safety is at risk. A good example of negative consequences that can arise is conflict within the community. A woman who tested positive for Covid-19 on February 26, was contacted by health officials to self isolate after attending work on Feb 22nd. The case was publicly announced and in response, she received a negative reply from the public and her community. She believes she was unfairly singled out and simply wished for an apology, but the public believes her actions were wrong and requests an apology from her. Who is in the wrong? Could this have been avoided? Knowing the possibility of catching Covid was high, the woman should have self-isolated which would mean the situation could have been avoided in the first place. The community should work together to feel safe in their area. To think that an outbreak could happen because we couldn’t follow simple health rules, I feel scared because I could catch Covid. When using public transport, all passengers must wear a mask or face covering to reduce the spread of Covid, and a hop card needs to be purchased because cash will be declined. As a student who catches the bus to get to school and home every day, it isn't unusual to see someone who disobeys these health and safety procedures. I see people spit in public, try to avoid wearing a mask, and go out when they are sick. How would you feel in this environment? Considering your surroundings can improve health and reduce Covid spreads. In conclusion, I wish that this letter brings awareness to those who don’t self-isolate and mentions the possible negative consequences that can happen because of one person’s actions. We can avoid spreads if we respect the rules but remember, it only takes one person to infect the community so let us work together to ends this pandemic and live without the worry of losing another life to this virus.