Should young people follow older people's example or its good for them to challenge the older people's thoughts and opinions.

In recent times, our society has been changing at a faster pace than ever. Some still argue that it is beneficial for teenagers and young adults to remain true to the older generations’ views, while others disagree and believe that it is more useful to have a modern approach and discard older people’s obsolete ideas. I agree that it is beneficial for young people to choose their own path. This essay will discuss both points of view. Without a doubt, the elderly can give useful advice, coming from their personal experience and general wisdom. There are some things that are worth taking into consideration and should not change over time, such as the importance of common sense and respect in human interactions, which most parents and grandparents educate us to do from very early ages. However, I disagree that any advice given to a child may be beneficial for them later in life. For instance, if one’s father is a carpenter and he advises his son to follow the same profession, he does that without taking into consideration that in today’s society that job is not as useful as it was when he was young. In contrast, many believe that positive changes come from challenging old customs. Some traditions have remained strongly embedded in people’s lives, even if they have been proven wrong throughout many generations. I agree with challenging such ideas because every one of us deserves to choose a path that gives us a sense of accomplishment. For example, in some cultures arranged marriages have remained a norm since the Middle Ages, although it is difficult to find happiness in a loveless marriage. In conclusion, while the benefits of older people’s advice should not be ignored, particularly when it comes to a well-rounded behaviour, evolution still comes from challenging their outdated beliefs.