Nowadays more people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

In recent years, self-employment has become an option for more and more people, who choose this over being employed by a firm or corporation. This essay will first discuss which reasons lead to this approach and it will, then, examine some disadvantages of unaffiliated work. Firstly, the two most important reasons why someone may choose to be self-employed are the possibility to work from home and have a flexible schedule. Due to advances in technology and the fact that we are all connected via the internet, freelancers can work from the comfort of their own homes for clients based anywhere in the world. In addition, they can adjust their working schedule according to their needs. For instance, a person who is not productive in the early hours of the morning should find it more convenient to start working at 11 AM and not having to leave the house. On the other hand, freelance labours come with some disadvantages as well. If someone is no longer compelled to answer to a manager, he or she can become less productive, lose clients and, thus, earn less money. Moreover, an uncertain income means more stress and more time on the job to compensate. For example, working hours can be the same or even longer for self-employed people, mainly because of distractions, such as chores or children arriving from school and demanding attention. In conclusion, many people opt for a freelance job because it seems more convenient to them to work from home at their own pace instead of having a normal nine-to-five job. However, it can have its drawbacks because it implies an uncertain salary and more working hours.