Should we increase the price of products containing sugar to reduce sugar consumption xxweb

Many foods, from cereal and milk to pasta sauce, soft drinks, and bakery goods, contain sugar and it has been linked to a slew of health concerns. I agree that sugary items should be made more expensive in order to encourage people to tackle the problem of sugar consumption. Firstly, it will help reduce the public health problems caused by sugar consumption by making them more expensive than healthier alternatives like water or milk. Foods that contain high amounts of sugar are not healthy. When we consume them, they give us a quick burst of energy, but then we end up feeling tired and sluggish afterward. This means that sugary foods can contribute to weight gain and diabetes. Sugary drinks, for example, are the leading source of calories in the American diet. This is because they are so easily accessible and available at any time of the day. Secondly, people will have an easier time resisting sugar consumption when it becomes too expensive for them to get their hands on it. Because it is a low-cost product that people are familiar with. Then, as a result of the price increase, they will become a luxury item for consumers. They are increasingly ceasing to use them. For instance, the United States has tried this not too long ago with cigarettes, which have been priced high since 2013. The tax on cigarettes decreased the number of smokers in just two years. In short, to encourage more people to reduce their consumption, we need to make these products more expensive so that they are not affordable for everyone anymore.