Should we increase the price. of sugary products. essay.

High levels of sugar are added to the consumed foods and drinks by food business corporations, this is causing many health problems to citizens and residents all over the globe. This issue should be taken under serious consideration by the public in hopes to find a reliable solution to alleviate health risks caused by high sugar intakes. However, not any solution can be taken into account without considering its effects on people. This essay completely disagrees with those who think increasing the price on sugary products will solve this problem. Manipulating people for a cause had never worked, and there are better ways to make people eat less sugar. If enforcing laws on the public for their greater goods is at least half as effective it claims to be in making people quit toxic behaviour then perhaps in many developing countries like India where there are many strict laws and fines against smoking in public places, it is to be expected that a lower number of people smoke in regular basis in Indian than in other countries, however, that's not the case, a new study in Karela University of medicine proved that about 85 percent of indian residence particularly adults and adolescents are addicted to nicotine. Furthermore, anecdotal evidence in many longitudinal studies indicate that enforcing unfair laws on people to maneuver them into a certain direction is usually met with a backlash, if we try to charge people extra for something for their own benefits, this will infuriate alot of individuals and patronise other, as if the government is treating them as unequipped to make their own decisions, in the most basic aspect of their lives. That is obviously an unethical approach to solve our problem. Not only people won't respond positively to this method of alleviating sugary products from the market. But this solution is also an unsuitable one because making a particular type of food expensive, does not automatically make the other types of food less expensive. One of the key problems people face in shifting to healthier options is availability. where there are many ubiquitous fast food restaurants on every other street, on the other hand, there are fewer health conscious restaurants for double the price range. They are only pricey because they are considered rare, which causes less competition and as a result this allows their owners to increase the price. I believe truly to resolve this issue by taking some initiative such as, restaurants with nutritious food should be encouraged by the governments and banks to open up and be restricted to a lower price range to make it more available to the customers. In conclusion, deciding what's best for the population is tricky. We need to opt for a solution that balances ethics, people’s freedom and people's health.