Do the benefits of studying abroad outweigh the drawbacks?

An increasing number of students are choosing to get a higher education in a foreign country. In my opinion, although studying overseas is demanding, it also provides a great opportunity to become more self-confident and receive a better education. One of the greatest disadvantages of studying abroad is the problem of solitude. While being far from home student could feel homesick and stay in isolation due to the language barrier. Without a doubt, an individual, who suffers from constant stress, could play truant and, as the result, have a bad academic performance. For example, according to the statistics of The University of Seoul, a great number of international students drop out from colleges and come back to pursue their studies at home as they can not deal with the difficulties of studying in a foreign country. At the same time, if a person lives on one’s own in a new country he will become more self-confident. As finding an apartment, paying bills and doing all the domestic chores all alone makes an international student more stress-resistant and independent. Moreover, even the presence of a roommate could strengthen the individual’s personality due to the need to exist in one territory. Furthermore, living in a foreign country can broaden student’s' horizons. In other words, overseas students are exposed to the melting pot of different cultures and customs that makes them more tolerant and open-minded. Finally, the main advantage of having further education in a foreign country is the possibility to enter a prestigious university with a wide range of courses and professional lecturers, who are experts in the related fields. Thus, receiving bachelor’s degree abroad could enhance the opportunity to have excellent career prospects in future. In summation, while studying abroad may cause loneliness and stress, it also offers the opportunity to become more self-esteem and achieve high career results.