Should university students be given the right to choose their own courses?

There have been numerous studies on why university students should be given the opportunity to choose their courses. Like any controversial topic that has been discussed, while they are others who agree that courses should be chosen for college students, a number of believe that students should be given complete freedom to choose the courses for their own curriculum. In my opinion, only having one of them, will not cover all knowledge that should achieve in university. This essay will explore both perspectives to assist readers in coming to their conclusion. I suppose I should begin by highlighting the fact that, the right to choose courses has a great impact on the students. First of all, students who choose their favorite class are motivated to study hard and, they are more focused throughout the course. In addition, if students are given a chance to choose the subjects they want to study, they will be more comfortable with the course and, they will get better marks, which is satisfactory both for them and for their teachers. For instance, the University of Rochester in the USA, offers Open Curriculum Programs for Humanities, Social Science and Natural Sciences. Although you may still ought to declare a major, but you are able to choose topics that you want. And at the end of each semester, the progress which each student shows in their major, is undeniable. While I support the previous point of view, I also believe that, universities should play parts in choosing subjects for student in any particular programs. To be more precise, universities have more experience in course management. consequently they create a course table for each degree, in order to cover everything that needs to be learned in that specific program. Moreover, Universities can predict a better career path based on courses which they offer. To put it in another way, by following their guidance in picking courses, you will be eligible for numerous job opportunities. For example, the University of Cambridge with 813 years of antiquity, is rich source of teaching experience, so they know what courses are essential and which degree they should be learned. Cambridge makes curriculum for each program based on needs of that major and, the jobs that witch will come by it in the future. To summarize, following their advice is your golden ticket to garnered success. In conclusion, both point of views have their own advantages at university. Therefore, in order to make students satisfied and give them motivation they need to work hard in their studies; universities should combine both methods and allow students to select certain voluntary courses alongside as certain mandatory courses.