Should the government take care of retired people or the retired people should take care of themselves?

Every person is individual and he/she thinks in a different way, some people think that government should take care of retired people and the others support the opposite view. I would say that this topic is very debatable. In my opinion government should take care of retired people for different kind of reasons, of course, this doesn’t include people who can take care for themselves and don’t need any help form government. I will try to examine below my specific reasons for my point of view below: First of all, I want to say that not all retired people need help from government. There are people who have enough financial means, but there are people who has been working hard his/her whole life for necessities, but now he/she needs help from government. First reason for that is age. Usually retired people are elderly people who don’t have enough strength or ability to work and they don’t have salaries. At this age they can not take care of themselves alone because they need a lot of stuff like medicine, food, health care necessities and etc. So, I think because of that government should step in such cases. On the other hand, there are some countries which have different rules about retired people. Before people resign, they save money for their elderly years and after they resign they use this money for their needs. Because of that I think that it is very reasonable thing for them, but still in my opinion government should take of them too because, yes I understand that these people save their money for their elderly age, but this money may not be enough for them, because like I said at this age they need a lot of stuff which includes expensive medicines, health care, food, house expenses and etc. Last but not least, I think that people work their whole lives very hard to survive and live happy lives and they also need rest especially at older age when they don’t have enough strength to work, of course families have this responsibility to take care of their senior citizens, but unfortunately not all the families are alike. There are some families who don’t even think about their retired parents and grandparents, so I think that because of the above government should support such people. Summarizing all above, I want to admit that we should respect retired people and take care of them. There are so many reasons why resigned people need help from government, of course this doesn’t include all of the people. but those who have nobody to take care of them and their health should enjoy government assistance.