Should the government make decisions about people's lifestyle or should people make their own decisions?

With modernization, peoples' lifestyles have transformed massively. It is often debatable whether people should have absolute right and decision making for the way of living for themselves, while others argue that the authorities should be accountable to take decisions for peoples lifestyle. In my opinion, I believe that there are certain things that should be in control of government, while people should also retain the rights of their life. To begin with, in developed countries and democratic nations, people are free to make their own decisions. This is to say that citizens are aware of their rights and responsibilities for their actions. For example, smoking is injurious to health and prohibited in public places. However, still people make this a part of their life and do it in parts and get together. Hence, the government has never restricted its use and sale as its consumption is one's personal choice until it is not harming other citizens. On ther hand, there are activities as well as professions which are in control of the higher authorities as exploiting them can be harmful for society. In other words, the government can provide guidelines to the people in making decisions for their lifestyles. for example, drinking is not prohibited. But, drinking and driving is illegal as it is a matter of road safety. Furthermore, it threatens others safety too. Therefore, considering the outcome, the administration has created the policy and for road safety. Thus, an individual should know their actions and their consequences. As long as it does not affect the environment and humans it is acceptable otherwise not. In conclusion, although law should be there to encourage a healthy lifestyle, at the same time people should be allowed to take decisions concerning their private affairs without branching rules for the larger benefit of society.