Should students take a gap year after high school?

In many countries, it is debatable whether young people should spend a year working or traveling, which is also known as taking a gap year, before embarking on their formal university education. From my perspective, I firmly believe that taking a gap year is potentially beneficial to our future. This essay will discuss two significant advantages of this trend. To begin with, a gap year creates an opportunity for students to gain more career experience and skills before committing to an education path. This can additionally enhance their competitiveness in their field when searching for internships and jobs. According to a study of GPA results by Robert Clagett, the former Dean of Admissions at Middlebury College, gap-year students tended to outperform their peers in college by 0. 1 to 0. 4 on a 4. 0 scale, with the positive effects lasting over the entire four years. Another noticeable advantage that gap-year students will get is the reduction of financial burdens. More time available gives them a chance to apply for scholarships or other aids that help make the tuition more affordable. During that period, students can also try getting a part-time or even a full-time job in order to earn some cash so they do not have to resort to loans and are under less financial debt, when they start higher studies. In contrast, opponents argue that students who take a break and start working may find it challenging to maintain their distance from monetary benefits, leading to conflict between academic priorities and work-related responsibilities which may cause them a lot of pressure, physical and mental issues. This view is unconvincing as a gap-year is just a short period to take a break and acquire experience in advance of university, not to apply for a permanent full-time job. As a result, it is crucial to wisely decide what to do during that time so as to take utmost advantage of a year-off and avoid possible adversity. In the final analysis, a year off before college helps students to discover their career interest and also allows them to consolidate financially. Besides those considerable upsides, people still have to be sharp-witted in order to cope with its downsides. Nevertheless, taking a gap year is an advisable idea due to the enormous potential it has.