Should students have a long summer holiday or should terms be longer?

Nowadays there is a great debate about how long should be school terms and summer holiday. This essay outlines the differences between shorter or longer holidays and how this change could afflict the educational programs. First of all, if we are talking about educational purposes, a longer school terms might not mean an improvement in skills. In fact, after 9 months of daily homework, tests and exams many teenagers might be stressed and tired. For this reason, students need to relax and recharge their batteries. The summer holidays are the perfect occasion to meet new friends, spend time with parents and have fun. During these 3 months, teenagers have the possibility of living an independent life and practising several sports which increase both physical and mental skills. In addition, plenty of schools organise English school camp in the summer holiday, a perfect occasion to combine the practising of new activities with the ability to talk one of the most important language. In conclusion, although it could be argued that 3 months of holiday are excessive for students, the summer might be a great opportunity to improve different skills which usually don't be practised during the school terms.