Describe a piece of art that you know

Even though I'm not a big fan of art, there's one particular painting that left a deep impression on me. That painting is "The Scream" by Norwegian painter Edvard Munch. It was created in 1893 and is said to be the best-known work of Munch. I first saw that oil painting two years ago in a journal of modern art that I read while waiting for my plane. And when I took a glimpse over it, I found it oddly familiar because the agonized face in the painting had been recreated and parodied in many other films and artworks. The painting depicts a terrified man screaming on a bridge under a blood-red sky. The man clutches his head tightly using both of his hands. His facial features are not clear, but the despair within is so thick as if it could touch viewers directly. Besides, the atmosphere in the painting also contributes to the overall sadness. The air and the sky seem to be influenced by the scream itself. I really like that painting because, despite its simplicity, it could bring out a significant emotional impact upon the viewers. Personally, I feel that not the man, not the scenery but the scream, the agony itself is the main character of the painting. It's so incredible. The agonized face in the painting has become one of the most iconic images of art, seen as symbolizing the anxiety of the human condition.