Student should work before studying for a higher degree

We have spent more than a half of our age study in the same curriculum, so what matters with only a year off then. Some students know what they want to do and aim for, but sadly some are not. Graduating from high school and continuously attending college might cause burnout and stress. Therefore, Gap Year is one option that provides them time and space to learn things, including themselves. This program is accepted worldwide, and even Harvard recommends it in an acceptance letter as taking a gap year before going to college is a benefit for the student. As I mentioned, many students are facing the stress of not knowing their goal and don’t even know who they are. Thus, the gap year helps them to discover a hidden passion. Gap Year Association data revealed that over 84% of respondents said spending time abroad helped them learn new skills, followed by giving them a purpose in life due to having time to self-reflection. All of these helpfully lead to not only succeeding in college or work but also getting a job. And it will not happen without having passion in the first place. Furthermore, in academics, the student will perform better in college. After Bob Clagett, former Dean of Admissions at Middlebury College, conducted and compared students in his class, it was discovered that those who took a gap year consistently outperformed what was predicted based on academic rating. Most importantly, this positive effect lasted for 4 years, or until they graduated. These are the consequences of taking a year off. Apparently, it helps students succeed in class and are more likely to be more successful after college. Lastly, your perspective on the world will change and be more mature. Specifically, over 90% said it allows them to communicate and exchange views with several people from different backgrounds. Moreover, it also makes them more understanding and respectful of other cultures. During this program, you will see what makes humanity so grateful and terrible at the same time, which may lead you to grow up and understand the world that we live in better. In other words, it makes you a better version of yourself. Eventually, the student who takes a gap year will gain a lot of advantages from it. Whether in university or in life, It is better to spend time exploring the world than being stuck in a class that you do not even feel like attending. Finding your passion, performing better in class, and developing a perspective of the world are just some advantages that you will take from it. There are still a ton of more. It might be scary to get out of a safe zone and have an adventure alone, but Afterall, isn’t it what life is about?