Should Students be Required to Wear School Uniforms?

Wearing School uniforms is highly required for the students for many reasons. In some primary and secondary schools it is not an obligation for students to wear school uniforms as they give students choices to wear whatever they want as long as it’s still polite. The idea of students should be required to wear school uniforms is still debatable and complex as there are many distinct opinions regarding the reasons behind the requirement of wearing school uniforms for students. There are several pro and cons arguments regarding students that are required to wear school uniforms whereby the arguments from both side are merit and need to be explored. On one hand, many groups of people supports the topic “students should be required to wear school uniforms” based on the considerable arguments. One of the main arguments is about promoting equality among the students. As the students are wearing the same clothes, it prevents the students to make fun of each other’s clothing choices and makes the students feel equal. Furthermore, wearing school uniforms reduces the acts of bullying regarding the socioeconomic status of students based on the students' clothes. With school uniforms, the safety of the students might be improved as school uniforms helps to distinguish the students and the intruders in order to avoid undesirable events. Besides that, having a school uniforms makes it easier for the students to get ready for school in the morning. More importantly, school uniforms creates sense of unity among the students. On the other hand, there are several arguments that makes some people against the idea of requiring the student to wear school uniforms. The price of the school uniforms often becomes the arguments for not supporting the mandatory of wearing school uniforms as some parents cannot afford that. Other than that, some students says that they are not comfortable to wear the school uniforms. For instance, in some particular school, girls are obligated to use skirts and they are not allowed to use pants. Furthermore, many students argue that by wearing the school uniforms, it limits the students to express themselves. As conclusion, it is clearly shows that the use of school uniforms is more beneficial considering both for and against arguments mentioned. Meaning, wearing the school uniforms gives many advantages for the students whereby students can have the sense of unity, feel equal and safe from acts of bullying regarding their clothes. School uniform is not that expensive, but cheap as it helps to save money as students do not need to buy more clothes to go to school. Mandatory of wearing school uniforms in fact not limiting the students to express themselves but helps them to express themselves in other and creative way as self-expression is not only about fashion.