Write about a time when someone you trusted let you down. Describe what happened and how this experience has changed you as a person. Write between 250 – 300 words.

When I was younger, I was slightly ingenuous. I believed in friendship and I thought that a person considered a friend would never hurt you. Obviously, I discovered soon I was wrong. I was 18 years old and I attended the last year of the high school. I was a friendly girl surrounded by friends and I had a boyfriend, a handsome boy I can define ‘my first love’. During that year at school I met new people, especially a girl who appeared truly interesting and full of life. After a while, we started to catch up every day at school or after lessons, building a new friendship. Once I invited her to my small town. I come from a village surrounded by countryside, in which every summer inhabitants organize a big party, lasting three days, with food music and funny shows. That was the perfect occasion to invite my new friend to meet my boyfriend and other people. It was an enjoyable party, drinking and dancing all the night, despite the fact that my new friend preferred to speak to my boyfriend rather than me. They carry on speaking and laughing all night and she was clearly chat up with him. Few days later I broke up with my boyfriend and I have never seen her again. This is a kind of ‘classic’ situation for teenager, almost everyone had been hurt by a friend or a boyfriend or girlfriend. Surely in that specific moment, when the wound is opened, is difficult to understand, but now I think is something you need once in the life to choose better your friends and be more selective in future. Now I’m still friendly, opened to meet new people, even though I have just few real friends I can trust.