Should students be allowed to chose their own subjects in the university?

By studying at a university one does not just absorb the knowledge that is being imparted there, but this exposure also prepares one for the outside world. That is why a lot of people believe that it is extremely important to let one study whatever one likes and let one carve one's path to success. However, there are others who opine otherwise. In my opinion, it is imperative to have the freedom of choice at university level studies as it shapes up one's personality and one gets to know where one´s passion really lies. On one hand, people believe that by going after these sought-after subjects and making oneself well versed with them not only helps them in the actual world but also eliminates any associated risks such as unemployment. The reason for such thinking lies in the fact that the masses are convinced that a degree with these subjects will assure them bread and better as such professionals never go out of demand. And as a result, there are people who study engineering or end up studying medicine just for the sake of it or to fulfill their parents' expectations. On the other hand, some individuals are driven by passion and despise such thinking to follow tried, tested, and proven methods and dare to take up challenges and decide sheerly based on their likings and gut. These people want to explore not only the plethora of opportunities and ideas that different subjects bring along but also their limits and thresholds. By doing so, students get to know their own self better and they either end up discovering a newfound passion or get a lesson of where their interest definitely does not lie. This is the reason that I, too, believe that pupils in the universities should be allowed to go after their calling so that there are no regrets later on in life. Furthermore, opening up all the alternatives gives a boost to their confidence and makes them better decision-makers. That is why it becomes the task of the parents and educators to let students and not make decisions on their behalf.