Should student take a gap year? Give your opinion

Over the recent years, there has been a great deal of heated debates about whether studentS should have a gap year or go to college immediately after finishing high school. In my opinion, a gap year is a beneficial opportunity for students, and to support my view, several reasons are outlined in this essay. First and foremost, it is undeniable that having a gap year gives students chances to discover themselves as well as prepare for the college. It is a great time to reflect and find out what they want to do in the future. Many high school students do not even know what their passions are and find it difficult to choose the right career path; however, after taking a gap year, trying things that they have never done, they can discover their potential and then have a clearer view of academic and professional prospects. Moreover, when discovering themselves, they are simultaneously preparing for their college. It is advantageous for those who want to apply for high rank universities as they can spend their gap year working as volunteerS or doing extracurricular activities, which can make their curriculum vitae more outstanding than their opponents. Another point is worth noting is that a gap year is an ideal time to do things they might not be able to do later in life, such as going abroad or spending time with family. When they go to college, they will have to spend most of their time studying, and after graduating and having a job, they may never have a whole year to do what they want. Consequently, having a gap year gives these people time to completely enjoy their life. Certainly, many people argue that people who choose to take a gap year will face difficulty in applying for colleges as the interviewers will question what they did in a whole year. However, it cannot be truly problematic if the interviewees know how to answer wisely to point out the advantages of what they have done in their gap year and make it as their unique traits and strengths. All in all, regardless of any point to the contrary, it can be concluded that having a gap year gives students many opportunities and they should take one before going to universities.