Should retirement be compulsory at 65 years of age?

For most people, retirement is considered as the end of productivity. Although different countries have varying cut-off limits for the retirement age, majority of them agree that sixty five years is the best age to call it quits. However, I believe that retiring from work at 65 years should not be made mandatory. Let’s understand the reasons behind this. Besides others, I would like to highlight two major factors supporting my perspective. First of all, the decision to work or quit one’s job is personal. There should not be any legal binding on an individual because it takes away the freedom of choice. My father, for instance, is sixty eight and quite healthy to carry on with his professional commitments. However, our country’s law requires him to quit, much against is wishes, after sixty years of age. Secondly, senior employees have a lot experience to share. If allowed to work, they can help groom young professionals. For example, India’s famous CEO, JRD Tata, continued to contribute to Tata group’s innovative projects even at the age of seventy. Therefore, in my opinion, age should never be the decisive factor for retirement. Some people argue that a compulsory retirement age can help individuals to sit back and relax. Since they have been working for the major part of their lives, there must be a time to stop. While I agree that time-offs are essential, I also advocate that quitting one’s job is not the solution. Sometimes people may not want to take a break entirely. They might want to work out an arrangement wherein they can be engaged in part-time jobs while enjoying their vacation periods. Lifestyles vary according to people’s choices. Some might want to retire early, while others might choose to continue working. So there should not be a compulsion on a person’s decision to work or quit. I feel it is better to leave that choice with the individual.