Should people over the age of 65 be allowed to work or not?

Some people think that the elderly needs to rest instead of working. This belief is derived from the idea that old people over the age of 65 cannot work as well as others and working might be detrimental for their health as they are not very strong. However, others believe that forbidding people from working just because they are old are against freedom and public interests. In this essay I will discuss both views and argue in favor of the latter. On the one hand, working might seem to be bad for the elderly. Above all, the elderly are often not as strong as younger people. Working might be a serious burden for them and it can be bad for their well-being. Also, some claim that old people are not good at working as much as young or middle-aged people as they get tired easily. According to them, it is not necessary for old people to work and it’s better for younger people to do so. They say the government needs to help the elderly under financial difficulties rather than pushing them to work and make their own money which is not beneficial to both old people and the society. Nevertheless, there is a more persuasive argument that no one should forbid people over the age of 65 from working. First of all, old people can work well, too. I recently watched a news about a “silver café” in Korea. A silver café is where all the workers are over the age of 65. Nonetheless, the customers are very satisfied about both the taste of food and the service. Like this, the stereotype that the elderly can’t work properly is wrong. Secondly, due to the aging population, there would be more old people and less young people in the future. If we prohibit old people to work, there will be much less people allowed in the workplace. Finally, it goes against one’s freedom to force a person to not work. The elderly also has a right to choose to work or not. Deciding whether working might be harmful to old people is up to themselves. We shouldn’t interfere with their freedom to make a choice. On the whole, I firmly believe that the current system of allowing old people to work is the best. Old people can work well, it is good for the society, and most of all choosing to work is one of the basic rights of all people. For the elderly, getting a proper job is tough. But as the world is changing, we should not look at working old people with stereotypes and accept that they are very capable with many years of experience and learning.