Should movies be for entertainment only or should they also have an educational purpose?

In the contemporary world, movies have become an increasingly popular means of entertainment for people of all ages. However, it is a controversial issue as to whether this form of media should adhere to this original aim of entertainment, or if it should expand in its aim to cover educational purposes. Personally, I opine that movies should be both entertaining and educational. On the one hand, it is necessary for movies to maintain their role as a means of relaxation. First of all, watching movies, to many people, offers a means of escapism in that (because) it relieves them of all the stress and burden of everyday life. Fans of science-fiction movies, for instance, would be captivated by top-rated sci-fi movies, where they are transported into an imaginary world to see their wildest dreams of seeing aliens or superheroes brought to life by state-of-the-art visual effects. These precious moments of getaway play a pivotal part in recharging the audience's battery before they continue their busy life. Furthermore, an attempt to integrate an educational theme into these movies could risk taking away all these fun moments, as the details of the storyline have to carry a mission of delivering a moral lesson, consequently possibly resulting in stripping the movies of their recreational values. On the other hand, movies also prove too powerful an educational tool to be overlooked. To begin with, the audiovisual effects from a movie can have lasting effects on people's cognitive skills. Well-made documentary movies, for Instance, have proved more effective in consolidating learners memory of history lessons than the traditional textbook approach. In other words, good movies with an educational therme do not have to come at the cost of (hy sinh) their entertainment values, provided that the lessons are delivered in a subtle way. This can be evidenced by a massive number of Hollywood blockbusters such as the Avengers franchise which have been played to full houses (in theaters) all around the world. These movies not only meet the audience's needs for recreation, but also manage to delicately carry meaningful messages in terms of friendship, loyalty and courage. In conclusion, I hold a confim belief that movies have all the potentials of becoming an effective tool to concurrently entertain and educate people. These two functions should not be seen as one being eclipsed by the other, but rather a good combination which benefits the viewers in many ways.