THE SIGHTS AND SOUNDS OF OUR CITY

THE SIGHTS AND SOUNDS OF OUR CITY(by Rachana/Rakesh) Railway Road of our city is a very busy street. It has shops, eating places and residential accommodation above the shops. The pavements on either side are occupied by the vendors. There are small kiosks of ‘pan-wallahs’ and the ironing man. The cobblers, vegetable sellers and cheap ready-made clothes sellers sit on the ground in front of the shops. Thus the wide road is reduced to a narrow lane. There is peace and quietness in the morning as there is very little activity in the market. Children and adults are busy at home. The street comes to life as the day advances and the shops start opening. By 11 o’clock the street begins to hum with activities. People from villages start pouring in for shopping. Afternoons are busier as local housewives also go for shopping. As early evening approaches, more vegetable and fruit vendors appear. The scene is transformed with the switching on of lights. The atmosphere becomes bright, gay and festive. Well-dressed people can be seen shopping for children and visiting restaurants. It is indeed a time for family outing. Roads are crowded as people start coming back from offices, factories and outstations. The only blemish in this street is that stray cattle—cows, buffaloes, dogs, pigs and monkeys—wander freely on the road and cause inconvenience to all.