In many parts of the world, many parents choose to teach their children at home rather than sending them to school. Do the benefits of homeschooling outweigh the disadvantages?

In rencent years, it has become far more common for people to self-teach their children. While I accept this trend can bring certain benefits, I believe that they are more likely to have a harmful impact. On the one hand, there are some advantages to homeschooling children. The most glaring virtue is that people using this educational approach can tailor the curriculum to personal talents, needs, and preferences of their children. They can teach each child based on their studying habits and learning styles such as visual, audio, kinesthetic, tactile, and this is beneficial to them to be more self-directed and have a greater depth of knowledge. Another clear benefit of this is that the homeschooling curriculum can have a flexible schedule. Parents can speed up or slow down the materials to match their children's learning pace and they can spend more time in areas or subjects which interest them. Clearly, it is easy to understand why some see this as a useful teaching method. Nevertheless, I would argue that these benefits are outweighed by the drawbacks. Firstly, what should be factored in this is that not all parents have adequate knowledge to teach many subjects or they may lack of teaching skill, so they may not produce desirable educational outcomes. Secondy, homeschooling families prevent peer interaction and hinder social development of children. Children who are homeschooled may have fewer chances to interact with the children of their age, consequently, lack the usual social skills, more likely to become unsociable, all of which can do harm to children’s comprehensive development including mentally, physically, psychologically. Furthermore, homeschooled children might be lack of competition - an important element for academic achievement, so this might result in unmotivated at times. It is clear that the disadvantages of studying at home are significant. In conclusion, there appear to limited benefits to teaching children at home, and the drawbacks far outweigh these. Therefore, it is a better way for children to attend school.