Should healthcare be free?

It is undeniable that healthcare system plays an important role in one's health but there are mixed reviews on whether healthcare should be free or paid. Firstly, free healthcare brings several benefits, such as saving lives and boosting the nation's economy. Modern society is towards equality for all, especially in medical and education; therefore, free healthcare is essential to provide medical treatment opportunities for both rich and poor people. As a result, free healthcare contributes to faster disease detection and treatment by encouraging people to go to the doctor more frequently. For instance, free medical services contribute to reducing diseases in slums inhabited by poor people by providing them with chances to access health services without paying. In addition free healthcare creates healthier workforce, boosting the nations' economy. Free healthcare allows all citizens to access to health treatment, ensuring their health at workplace. As a result, free healthcare increases their productivity and work efficiency, which affects positively the nation's economy. On the contrary, free medical healthcare also has some disadvantages, such as degrading the quality of services and corroding the nation's budget. Since free healthcare provides medical examinations for everyone, hospitals will be overloaded with work because of the large number of people coming to the clinic. Therefore, service quality is reduced, leading to misdiagnosis for patients. Besides, free medical services also corrode the nation's economy. The fact that most country's budget goes to free healthcare affects other industries. For example, 40% of Canada's budget goes to health services, which cut off the budget from other government services like education.