Should govt impose higher taxes on fast food?

Nowadays, a lot of people around the world are having too many health problems because of eating too much fast food. Many people fail to understand the risks associated with the consumption of fast food. While it may taste really good, it is most definitely not healthy. Statistics around the world show how fast food and less physical exertion contribute to obesity and various other health complications, mostly diabetes and heart diseases. Even though the world is slowly starting to be aware of these things, fast foods are very tough to be ignored, in this rather fast world. Despite all this, I wouldn’t completely agree with the statement that the government should impose a higher tax on them. One of the reasons I feel this way is because, we are constantly on the move and have various other things to do in life. People usually don’t have the time to cook food for themselves. And let’s be real, the number of dishes that pile up after cooking seems to be very intimidating and people just don’t have the time to wash dishes in the midst of their busy life. Consequently, they tend to gravitate towards foods that can is easy to carry around, gets made in a matter of seconds and is more convenient to buy. And that is when fast food comes into the picture. The other main reason why people get fast food is because it is cheap and at the same time delicious. People who don’t have enough income will obviously prefer the cheaper fast-food option rather than getting expensive groceries from the market. Fast food companies have become popular only for this reason- it is because their food is affordable and attracts a lot of working-class men and women. In addition to this, working parents find it much easier to feed their kids fast food, because it saves them the time and effort to make food. Fast foods do cause a lot of health problems, nevertheless, higher taxes should not be imposed on them, because there are a lot of people who depend on them for their livelihood. The government should instead create campaigns or distribute flyers to educate people about the ill effects of having fast food, so that they can reduce the load on their health care system, having to deal with people having various complications associated with fast foods. Furthermore, everyone should be encouraged to have a physically active lifestyle to combat this problem, and at the same time, one should keep in mind the various eating disorders people have and help them out to become a more healthier version of themselves.