Television viewing has become part of

Television viewing has become part of modern everyday life. Everyone has at least one TV set in their home. As a result, people question what kind of effect television programming has on youth. Opponents cite numerous disadvantages, while advocates list various benefits. Those who question the value of television argue that watching TV is primarily a passive activity. Children are neither physically nor mentally active. A lack of physical exercise can trigger conditions such as obesity, and inadequate mental stimulation can lead to a lack of creativity and imagination. Second, those against television for children note that a large number of programs are inappropriate. The advertisements alone promote a consumerist and materialistic attitude. Furthermore, the gratuitous violence in many shows, including even Saturday cartoons, may encourage this same type of behavior in young people. On the other hand, advocates of television viewing for children submit the medium offers both education and entertainment. For example, there are many documentaries that provide excellent learn~ng opportunities. In addition, young people studying a new language can pick up a lot of new vocabulary and idioms from virtually any type of show. Television is also a valid form of entertainment. Families can enjoy quality time together while sharing laughs over a typical situation comedy. Furthermore, parents who need a break for an hour can entertain their kids by sitting them down in front of the tube. Finally, parents can use television as a reward, for instance, after the children have completed their homework assignments. In weighing the pros and cons of TV for children, I believe that limited and monitored television viewing for children Chapter 1 Family 2. Reason 2 • support __ is appropriate. Parents should decide on the suitability of specific programs and restrict the total number of hours per day. This will prevent negative outcomes such as passivity, materialism, and aggression. Selective viewing, however, especially if it is educational or entertaining for either the child or the entire family, may prove entirely worthwhile.