Should governments provide free internet?

Undoubtedly, the internet is a many-splendored thing. Among its countless and revolutionary contributions to the 21st century, life has been the broad democratization of information and opinion. Therefore, this concept has given rise to the familiar conceit that everything about the internet should be free. However, I strictly disfavor this viewpoint. To begin with, around the globe, billions of people use the internet daily. Moreover, with each passing day, this count is being upsurged. From study to business purposes, this form of technology has become a demi-god for the masses. However, still, a larger section of society is deprived of the internet. Thus, it is being contended that the internet should be made free of cost. I believe, for such people, this should not be made available at free of cost; however, at lower rates, those people can avail it otherwise; this notion may invite troubles. In my opinion, if this technology will be free then the government will have to face the extra burden of both financial budget and slower speeds. More specifically, the heaviest users will definitely gobble up hundreds of gigs regularly. Hence, this will slow down the whole network during peak hours. Therefore, at nominal costs, we can tackle this congestion issue. Besides, in the case of free internet, subscribers will join without limits. As a result, the internet's consumption will upsurge drastically, and hence, it will become a mandatory aspect for government to boost more and more funds in this sector. Consequently, I believe this will directly enhance the tax burden on the common person. Hence, inflation will drastically gulp several persons. As a result, there should be normal prices for the internet.