In recent years, the affordability of higher education has always been a topic of interest. Some people believe that it is a human right to study at a university, and the government should abolish all college tuition fees, irrespective of students’ socio-economic background. While the former is plausible, I utterly disagree with the latter since it would induce harm to both stu

In recent years, the affordability of higher education has always been a topic of interest. Some people believe that it is a human right to study at a university, and the government should abolish all college tuition fees, irrespective of students’ socio-economic background. While the former is plausible, I utterly disagree with the latter since it would induce harm to both students’ hard work and the state’s economy. On the one hand, all students having a chance to pursue university means that knowledge would be widespread, leading to development in the quality of human life. Indeed, when people are well-educated, our society will be civilized, which results in a substantial decrease in crimes and sins such as theft and robbery. Instead, everyone is likely to increase their income with personal development, ranging from enhancing vocational expertise to building correct values. Therefore, it will bring both peacefulness into human life, and it can also create a thriving economy. Despite the right to access higher education, ministries have nothing to do with tuition fees. To begin with, the provision of free-of-charge education will put a strain on government coffers, and thus, the tax will increase to cover the money paid for remaining schools’ facilities and the salary for teachers. Consequently, several poor people who cannot even pay for their food would be affected strongly. Moreover, since there is no difficulty in attending college, pupils can take it for granted. For example, they may not concentrate on academic results and study because it will cost them nothing to re-take a subject. State’s covering college fees result in an economic crisis. In conclusion, while it is true that everyone has the right to be allowed to enter college, I believe that governments should not be responsible for tertiary education fees.