Should government spend on roads and highways or on public transportation such as bus, train, . . . ?

In this day and age, public transportation has and is becoming the responsibility of the authority. While many people consider the government should spend money on enhancing the roads and highways’ quality, I believe that expenditures on public transportation ought to be paid more attention. On the one hand, spending money on improving roads and highways brings a couple of benefits. To begin with, it helps citizens to reduce the number of car accidents. owing to the fact that a moderate number of car crashes everyday due to the rough roads, especially in highways. Therefore, maintaining the quality of roads is vital for commuters and necessary for the government to do. Furthermore, spending to maintain the beneficial quality of the roads is also involved in the development of the cities, since roads are used to finish daily tasks such as conveying goods, purchasing foods from supermarkets and transporting to work. Indeed, a recorded example is New York ( a modern city in the USA), the roads, highways and railways are checked and repaired every two months. On the other hand, I consider the authorities should extract an amount of money from their budget to innovate public transportation. Firstly, traffic jams, which is currently a complex problem for the government, may be solved. due to the fact that improving public transportation is indirectly encouraging the public to utilize it instead of private transportation. To illustrate, the awful quality of public transportation is a major reason for why a number of individuals prefer private cars to public transportations. Additionally, this also creates an abundance of job opportunities such as taxi or bus drivers which allow them to expand their salary when public transportations is enhanced by authority and utilized by humans. As a result, the unemployment rate could be reduced by the development of public transportation. In conclusion, improving roads and highways could bring for commuters a plethora of advantages. Nevertheless, I suppose that the government should spend more money on innovating the quality of public transportation.