Is it cruel to keep animals in zoo

Nowadays, there are more and more zoos rising all over the world. Even in some countries, governments invest huge money to build up zoos as a destination for tourists. However they get little approval from citizens, many argue that it is so cruel to keep animals in these places. I agree with this idea and in this essay, I will support my opinion with examples. Firstly, zoos make animals lack mental stimulation and survival skills. Because of being separated from their natural habitat for too long, so it's difficult for them to return to wildlife. For example, a tiger born and growing up in a zoo environment couldn't know how to hunt prey and live out of the available food. Moreover, the conditions and facilities of some of the zoos, such as someones in Vietnam, are not well preserved and developed, on top of that, the hot and humid weather of Vietnam might make a huge difficulty for them. It means that they have to suffer unnatural temperatures in zoos. Secondly, zoos deprived animals of their freedom. As a result, they get depressed, psychologically disturbed, and harm each other. These animals cannot live as they wish to live. It is worth saying that in zoos, animals such as dolphins or sea lions are forced to perform in front of hundreds of camera flashes and people who spend hours in front of their cages to watch but learn nothing. On the other hand, there is an argument that these places will be a good idea to preserve the endangered species and educate children about the animal world. It is believed that visiting the zoo will help increase their vocabulary and comprehension skills. In conclusion, zoos will be a great place if they only keep the endangered animals and upgrade to animals to be eligible to adopt.