“Should criminals be punished with lengthy jail terms of re-educated and rehabilitated using, for instance, community service programs. ”

Criminal Justice and human rights of criminals often a debatable topic all over the world and ‘lesser of two evil. Some argue that they should be penalised for a longer period, while others believe that criminal should send it to rehabilitation and education centres to give a brand-new life. Having considered both the viewpoints, I personally have the notion that, it should be depended on the crime’s backdrop and its severity. We are living in the period of people served with well established human rights law and its protection. However, it's all depended on the country's legal system, which influenced by the factors Such as social cultural and political background. Many philosophers, thinkers And social reformers have an opinion that the society is mostly creating a criminal, nobody born as a criminal. If we look deep into this thought and observe the backdrop of criminals we could find the same. Having said that, for a peaceful society, no system can ignore the crimes and criminals. On on the one hand some people think that criminals should get maximum punishment and some extent they suggest capital retribution. Many developed countries have already abolished the capital punishment. Having said that, many countries still practising this due to the fact that public mandate is endorsing this concept. On the flip side of coin, certain people and activists, mostly argue that society has always greater influence to make someone criminal, some crimes are occurring due to the instant fragile actions, later, this clog halt their lives thoroughly though they have immense remorse on their action. In my opinion, this category of people should deserve another opportunity to reform themselves. They should send to rehabilitation centres, community services and education centres to make them understand the value of life and a chance for reformation. Many jails have been practising various activities on a daily basis, such as yoga, cooking and handicrafts to rejuvenate their thought processes. In conclusion, crime should not be forbidden, though, we can make a better world through the changes we can bring into the life of people to give mercy and forgiveness. Having said that depends on the crime’s severity and its history, punishment should be categorised accordingly.