students must not be forced to learn foreign language

A foreign language is a language which is not spoken in the native country of the person referred to. Instead, learning a foreign language is an effective way for students to know more about the larger world. It is argued that students should not be forced into learning foreign languages such as English. It seems that it is no more plausible than giving students the freedom in learning a new language and relevance of future career. First, it doesn’t need to force students to learn foreign languages because it is about their process. The word 'forced' is the hindrance because the students have their own skill and fashion while learning a new language needs skill and fashion. Then if the students have no skill and motivation in them, it will be trouble in learning a foreign language. But, the teacher feels that learning foreign languages such as English will be of advantage to the students and so advises them to learn English. Similarly, as some little youngsters don't prefer to eat vegetables, their tutor feels that it is furthering their potential asset thus demands that they eat them. They might don’t understand the purpose or the profit of its language before, they haven’t tried leaning it. Based on Learning Disabilities and Foreign Language Learning book, Schwartz (1997) explains, for the student unencumbered with a learning disability, foreign language study is indeed an enriching and rewarding experience. For the learning disabled student, however, it can be an unbelievably stressful and humiliating experience, the opposite of what is intended. It means that the teachers should look for the best way such as teaching a foreign language through media and tell the benefit of learning its language then the students get their motivation to study more. Second, the students aren't forced to learn foreign languages such as English because it has become a necessity in today's world. It has been accepted as a required universal language such as research sources and other literatures. Being multilingual enhances the students’ future career perspectives and education by opening the door of other Nations for them and offering better education and employment opportunities such as Germany. They provide free education facilities to some students who are possessing certified learning skills in the German language. Moreover, attaining a good job is the ultimate purpose of every student and many international companies prefer speakers of multiple languages over monolinguals as employees. Therefore, learning foreign languages gives ample benefits to students. Third, it seems not to be a good way when the statement above has an impact on the abolition of the English lesson against Junior and Senior High School in Indonesia. When IGI (Ikatan Guru Indonesia) had a discussion towards the elimination of English lessons, it’s the same as why they don’t eliminate other subjects such as science, math, chemical, etc. although the language is an aid to learn something. But every subject has its own purposes, including English. It doesn’t mean that the students are totally not be required anymore to learn the language but it is about how the institution or the teachers have their own way to make the students don’t feel that they are forced to learn that language. Therefore, even though learning a foreign language has many benefits, I believe that some school should not force students but encourage them to learn another language because of those aforementioned drawbacks. In general, the students don’t need to be forced, but they need motivation to learn foreign languages by explaining the prosperity of its language. Giving the student the independence of learning a language is a brilliant idea to increase their skill. Masciantonio (1977) explains that foreign language study is an area where children not accustomed to achievement in school are able to excel. The resulting benefit to self-image, self-esteem and satisfaction with school experience are enormous. Evidence from several study show language students have a significantly higher self-concept than does non-language students.