A government's role is only to provide defence capability and urban infrastructure

A healthy and balanced society requires a symbiotic relationship between citizens and the government. The government looks after citizens from the taxes it collects. However, a pertinent question is often asked- who should pay which taxes, and should one be required to pay taxes for services he does not avail of. For instance, how fair is it to require citizens to pay taxes for government education, when their children do not avail of these facilities and actually attend private school? After all there in no denying the fact that parents sending their children to private schools are anyway burdened with the higher fees they charge. As these schools have their own stipulations for uniform, books and activities, the cost of attendance to these schools is radically higher than their government counterpart. In effect, asking such parents to pay taxes for universal education is like making someone pays to construct a park he never visits. However, one does not need to go very far to see that this argument does not hold water. Firstly, when one pays taxes, one is not directly paying for services he or she uses. The government collects taxes from various sources and then decides in which area to spend the money and who its beneficiaries will be. For example, the government may tax a rich hotel or an entrepreneur to fun supply of water to a village. Secondly, this very same person may be using a disproportionate amount of some other government service for which he pays less tax. For instance, he may be using more of the road than another person, but paying the same tax. Thus, basic nature of the taxation system flies in the face of this argument. The ethical angle of the argument proposed must also be considered. A person whose family does not take the benefit of universal education may be rich enough to send his children to a costlier private school. The very idea of taxation is to have a more egalitarian society, which is achieved by taxing the rich and serving the poor. The argument may be made for the old and the retired people, who do not avail of universal education. However, one must remember that governments around the world are careful to impose less taxes on such people anyway. For example, such people may be paying less or no income tax. Specifically targeting taxes which finance government school appears, not only to be out of line, but also un-ethical.