Should a city protect historical heritage sites, even at the expense of its development?

Nowadays preserving historical heritage sites is a significant purpose which some cities achieve at the expense of their development. This essay will examine the advantages and disadvantages of protecting the historical legacy at the cost of a city’s expansion and provide a logical conclusion. The two main advantages of saving ancient buildings and locations are boost in the city’s economy and conservation of nation’s spiritual heritage. Firstly, as far as economy concerned, it is improved by tourism industry that provides job opportunities and tourists, who spend money in a city. The better condition sites have, the more visitors they have. For instance, about 6 million people attend the Colosseum annually and the number of them is constantly growing, making the Colosseum one of the most visited attractions in the world. Secondly, heritage sites represent the past history and culture of a city having a connection with essential events that occurred in the area such as religious, social and political events. In addition, historical buildings form together the architectural heritage of an area. However, protecting historical legacy at the expense of the city’s development has disadvantages. The main drawback is that history is not as significant as progress. Some experts support the view that people should not live in the past, instead, they should seek to the future. Moreover, it is widely believed that all spheres should be developed. Another negative aspect is that ancient buildings are sometimes impractical and do not have their own purpose. Supporters of the idea claim that by replacing these buildings, there will be more space for housing, which is important due to the problem of overcrowding. However, appropriate steps taken by the government can eliminate these disadvantages. In conclusion, although preserving historical heritage sites at the expense of the city’s development has certain drawbacks like impracticality of the sites and importance of progress, it has a positive impact on the city’s economy and saves nation’s spiritual heritage. I firmly believe that the benefits outweigh the disadvantages.