Shopping was considered as daily routine work in earlier times; however, recently it has become a leisure activity for some people. In my opinion, this trend has more negative impact on the public than positive.

It is true that these days people have busy schedules and hence they go shopping with their family to spend some time together and buy clothes and other necessary things. The advent of malls has also played a role in making shopping a pastime activity. At the malls people can find all that they need under the same roof. They can also eat food and even watch movies or play games. In fact, shopping became so convenient in the last decade that it is now a hobby. On the flip side / On the down side, due to availability of numerous products and increased comfort level in shopping centers, people tend to spend more money. For example, many people buy something which fascinates them even if it has no use in their lives. Because of credit availability, people do not have to pay the whole amount upfront. Unfortunately, this may land them in deep debts. In addition, youngsters spend a lot of time in shopping malls as they are influenced by the advertisements whereas, this time can be utilized wisely in sports. To conclude, I would like to say that although shopping is essential to some extent it has many negative impacts on individuals. Hence, people should go for shopping only when it is necessary. Shopping should not be considered as a hobby as it could lead to some undesirable circumstances.