Shopping online is getting more and more popular in recent years. E-commerce becomes one of the most vibrant industries that represent for new ear of technology. In this essay, drawbacks and benefits of shopping online will be discussed in further details.

Traditional shopping at offline store or shopping malls is no longer trending anymore. Consumers behaviors has changed from online to offline due to many reasons; convenience, affordable price, etc. However, online shopping contains implicit risks that should be seriously considered. More and more people buy clothes, shoes, air-tickets, groceries, everything on the internet, and more and more consumers get fooled by fraud sellers with unqualified products. For instance, a fraudulent has been detected on a very well-known e-commerce website, a seller that seems to be a reliable seller displayed a VND 400, 000 orange sneaker on their online store, the actual product that every buyer received was a flip-flop that only worth for under VND 50, 000. This happened to more than a 200 users on that website and losses up to VND 100 million. Otherwise, if not getting fraud, consumers may also have to deal with wrong information of products that they bought, the actual product cannot be exactly the same as the picture they saw online such as the color, size and other information. In some circumstances and depends on specific situation that this has to be accepted as an unavoidable drawbacks of shopping online. On the other hand, the reasons for shopping online to become indispensable is that consumers actually found enormous benefits from shopping on the internet. Convenience and affordable price are the two strongest drivers for customer’s behaviors. People do not have to get out of their house to buying things and going to the shopping malls is obsolete, all they have to do is surfing all the online store on their smart phone or other internet connected devices then make a click, products are delivered rights at their door. They can buy at anytime, anywhere with their devices and internet, they can browse to find all suitable sources of supplier for the best consideration before purchase with just a little amount of time, which is very suitable those who are too busy for their works. Moreover, most of all products displayed online are cheaper than those sold offline at traditional store. This happens because the cost for operations and maintenance of traditional store are no longer exist. Buyers do not need to rent a place to open a shop, no need for electricity, water and labor costs. Therefore, an affordable price would easily found on the internet. Even it will be getting much cheaper since the ecommerce industry is in a very vibrant phase of penetrating the market. Many ecommerce websites in Southeast Asia provide a lot of promotion and rebating support with an effort of winning the market. In the conclusion, there are many risks of shopping online but advantages it brings to customers is definitely outweigh the disadvantages. I believe in any way of doing purchasing, risks of fraud is unavoidable, shoppers need to aware the clearest how each channels work and their rights when purchasing on those channels. Vice versa, buyers need to provide enough and precise information about the products, middle man such as ecommerce website should set transparent and suitable regulations for both sellers and buyers, how transactions work on their market places. Be a smart shopper, especially online shopper for the best leverage of all advantages of this modern type of purchasing and for a healthy economy in general.