MANY PEOPLE BELIEVE THAT SOCIAL NETWORKING SITES (SUCH AS FACEBOOK) HAVE HAD A HUGE NEGATIVE IMPACT ON BOTH INDIVIDUALS AND SOCIETIES.

Social networking sites, for example, Facebook, are considered to harm individuals as well as societies. However, I believe that these sites are beneficial for people if they use it ethically. Social networking sites have several benefits such as it engages people by connecting with others all over the world, and allows oneself to share ideas with individuals having a common interest. Facebook updates us with the latest inventions, in fields, we are interested in. Thus, we can keep up with the latest trends using social networking sites. I agree with the idea that they have a bad impact on society. Moreover, this is because people are not using them in the right way. These sites are meant for connecting people but not getting engaged to that extent that you even lose contacts with your society, local communities. People nowadays talk to individuals living in some other end of the world, even though it does not guarantee that they would ever meet in the future. Youth especially get on the wrong track, which also creates a negative impact on their studies and work. People should take benefits from such social networking sites to gain their knowledge, to express their ideas and thoughts by sharing with people across the world. These sites even help you in choosing your interests, developing skills and getting more accurate in your field. If you are from the sales and marketing department, you can have lots of opportunities by exposing your products to the world, it’s the most useful way of marketing. Unfortunately, after having so many advantages, we never use them for good. People on their social media keep updating their stories, where they go, what they are doing. We get each hour updates on what our friends, colleagues are doing. That is now the biggest concern according to me, as it is purely related to our privacy. Also, social networking sites have a location tag, which is dangerous as if someone who doesn’t like you, or is jealous of you, can you that location and maybe attack you. Along with those people, mostly the youths, get in the trap of cyberbullying which often leads to depression and anxiety. So, I think that the main reason for having a bad impact on our society by social networking sites is us. We are the ones who are responsible for all these. Although social networking sites bring people closer all over the world, we certainly get apart from our local relations. Overall, individuals should stay and create a stronger connection with their local communities and society, and use social networking sites in a limited manner to keep a balance and maintain a healthy life.