Shopping now is one of the most popular types of leisure activity in many countries for young adults. Why is this happening? Is it a positive or negative development?

Youngsters all over the world spend their free time while doing shopping. This is most likely the result of overconsumption culture which has been promoted over two past decades, and it appears to me as negative development. New fashion trends or gadgets are introduced in the market constantly and then become a desire to purchase goods. Updating the wardrobe according to the latest trends motivates young adults to buy new things over and over again. For example, after the premier of a movie or TV series the sale of goods that was on lead actress rose immediately. Moreover, some people want to splurge money in front of friends for demonstrating their status, that is why today we notice in shopping centers a large group of youngsters hopping from shop to shop. It is obvious that it has an adverse effect since people waste their hard-earned money on useless stuff, which collects in their closets. Furthermore, they waste time and energy, which could be spent in a more productive way. Instead, they can join art classes or go to the gym to develop their mind and health. According to the last survey more than 50% of respondents spent 20 hours per week in shopping malls and more than 30% of goods bought is completely useless and the result of mindless shopping. In conclusion, youngsters now spend their time shopping since they want to follow the latest fashion trends and to impress their friends. However, it is a negative development as it is a complete waste of time, energy and more importantly money.