In some areas of the US, a ‘curfew’ is imposed, in which teenagers are not allowed to be out of doors after a particular time at night unless they are accompanied by an adult. What is your opinion about this?

In many parts of the US, adolescents are not allowed to be outside their home after a certain hour of the night if they are not accompanied by an adult. In my opinion, this is essential in order to ensure their safety and prevent them from getting involved in some detrimental activities. Safety of the child is of paramount importance for any parent and in some areas, this is often compromised during late nights. Firstly, as per the statistics, some localities and areas have a higher crime rate than others. The miscreants and paedophiles operate at night after a particular time; hence, in such cases, it is advisable and sensible that teenagers who are naïve and sometimes volatile in their interactions with such criminals are accompanied by an adult to deter the crime and mishap. In addition, some areas are prone to accident mainly due to the movement of heavy vehicles, so an adult’s presence and their driving experience prevents adolescents from any accidental hazards. Moreover, there are many anti-social groups that operate during night and try to entice the young teenagers into activities that are detrimental for them such as, drugs and alcohol consumption. Presence of an adult or a parent dissuades them in approaching the teenager and hence prevents them from getting involved in activities that are baneful for them as an individual, as well as has harmful effects on the society and the community. In conclusion, it is pivotal for a teenager’s safety and holistic growth without any interruption that they are accompanied by an adult after a certain time of the night; hence the curfew is rightly justified.