Shopping is now one of the most popular forms of leisure activities in many countries?

n many countries, especially in cities, shopping has become the best way for teenagers to relax. It is because for many people it is an immediate and easy option and they do not have to plan in advance. I think this is a positive development and in this essay I will support my stand with valid arguments. There are plenty of shopping malls in cities, which are a quick option for many people to spend their leisure time. It not only helps them to relax but also allows them to buy their necessities in their leisure time. According to a survey conducted by a magazine, 68% of young adults choose shopping as their first option whenever they feel bored or stressed out. And the survey also explained that 15% of them choose window shopping to chill out. In my opinion, it is largely a positive development, because shopping directly generates revenue for the government in the form of tax and creates employment. If they purchase goods, 5% to 15% of the bill will go to the government. As a result the government can also provide good facilities such as proper roads and safety to citizens. That is why most of the metropolitan cities encourage shopping malls and stores to increase their revenue. For example, in Hyderabad, GHMC doubled its revenue after it permitted 50 malls, which helped to renovate 20 parks and repair all the roads in city. In conclusion, shopping is the best way to relax as it requires hardly any planning. It also benefits the economy. However, youngsters need to take care not to spend beyond their means.