Sex education should be taught at school.

Sex education at school has been a widely-discussed topic in recent years. Many people believe that this subject should be in curriculum while many others disapprove. From my perspective, I totally agree that sex education be taught in school due to three main reasons. To begin with, sex education including sex orientation section can alleviate sex discrimination. The more students understand about people of different gender identity, the more they can sympathize and share with them. Therefore, proper and accurate sex education can reduce inequality in society. Besides, sex education helps students understand their bodies. Many girls, when dealing with their first menstruation, feel strongly panic since they don’t know about this kind of blood. Many boys, when his voice cracks, feel terribly unconfident since they assume that they’re different with other boys. These negative emotions stem from the ignorance about their own body. Thus, they should be equipped with sexual knowledge to be well-prepared for their puberty. Last but not least, learning sex education is a way of self-protection for children. Abortion and STDs are now accelerating among teenagers. Educating children about safe sex can minimize the risks of STDs and unwanted pregnancy. In addition, a lot of children have been suffering from child sexual abuse just because they are too innocent to know what it is and what to do in these circumstances. In these lessons about sex, they will be taught about this problem and instructed how to protect themselves from sexual crimes. In spite of the overwhelmed advantages, many parents still protest sex education since they believe that sex education can encourage early sex, which negatively influences children’s physical and mental health. However, soon or late, along with the development of technology, their children will exposure to sex. Instead of letting them learn from toxic information on the Internet, why don’t we teach them properly to keep them stay away from early sex and to have safe and healthy sex? In conclusion, sex education should be a compulsory subject at school, not only for students’ benefits but also for the development of society.