Sense of competition and co-operation among children

Sense of competition is a natural trait among human. However, whether it should be encouraged during young age or not is a very debatable subject. Furthermore, some believe that children should be exposed to co-operate rather than to compete. Competition is a good sense if it is been applied in a healthy context. For example during sports activities, competitiveness is very crucial to trigger self improvement. With it, children would feel more motivated to upgrade their personal skills and to be better generally. Moreover, competition will expose children to other emotional experience such as rewarded and failure. Therefore, early exposure to these experiences will better prepare them to be a better adults. Whereas, co-operate is a positive sense that should be highly cultivated among children. It is commonly introduced during group activities such as dancing, playing and even learning by group. More importantly, these activities will exposed the children to be sensitive, understanding and emphatize of others. Hence, by having this approach during early education, children will become more useful and tollerable as an adults. Their ability to co-orperate and work together with their team member is very important for their growth. Eventhough competing and co-orperating is seem on the opposite spectrum of human nature, but I believe both trait are equally important. It is benificial to encourage both sense in a healthy environment, in order to gain balance in the children mental development.