Sending criminals to prison is not an effective method of dealing with them. Education and job training should be used instead.

It is argued that education and job training can be more effective ways than prisons to deal with criminals. I partly agree with this idea. The main reason why culprits should not be sent to prison is that there are some citizens who commit crime because they are not aware of it or they are forced to do so. For example, children under the age of eighteen who have violent behavior at school may not realize that what they are doing is wrong since they are not able to tell right from wrong. Therefore, education is the good fashion to help them foster the ability to distinguish right from wrong and prevent them from breaking laws in the future. Another case is that some criminals do not obey the laws for they are cornered. The poor-stricken people steal food or other daily necessities from others for they lack sources of income. If they are provided with job training and job opportunities, they may less likely to be thieves. On the other hand, however, some criminals should be sentenced to jail when they have committed crime. For instance, those repeat offenders should be put in prison because education has no effect on them and the bad conditions in the jail, such as confining them to a small place, can give them a golden chance to reflect on what they have done to others or the society. Besides, felons should also be arrested in jail for a long time now that this can not only help them turn into good residents but also protect others from being hurt again. To summarize, there is no doubt that sentencing criminals to jail is a good measure to address them. However, I still believe that the government should first provide education and job training in order to reduce the amount of crime.