Selling Cigarettes should be banned

According to a piece of research made by some universities, most of 55% of the people in western countries usually smoke at least 5 cigarettes each day. Most government has tried to tackle the problem although they didn’t get any valuable result, for this reason, a new idea is wondering around people: the production and sale of cigarettes should be made illegal. But is it a wise choice? We’re used to thinking that, if something is illegal the people aren’t going to do that, but this could be true in an ideal world, unfortunately, our society isn’t perfect and often people can break the law to fulfil their necessities. For this reason, making cigarettes illegal will feed the illegal market, leading smugglers to sell cigarettes illegally. This is the same scenario of cannabis, even though in most countries buying marijuana is completely illegal, people are still able to use it, due to the drug smuggler; so making cigarettes illegal, will bring us in the same situation. So is it a good solution? Definitely Not! So what we can do to help people to give up smoking? If we look at some measures that some countries have taken, to contrast people who smoke, we can learn that raising the price for a pack of cigarettes could work. In the UK a pack of cigarettes cost nearly 13 pounds, this could be a huge amount for a lot of people, thus they are going to give up to save money. Another good way is to show to people the bad effect of smoking, and how this can be harmful to themselves and other people. In conclusion, even though thinking about making cigarettes illegal looks like the best choice, if we analyse all the possible scenarios behind this thought we can simply understand how this isn’t, for sure, the right thing.