Nowadays, more and more countries encourage senior students to take a gap year, which means the student spends a year after finishing high school on work or travel to get more experient in life before starting university studies. It is also believed that this statement has its own advantages and disadvantages.

Nowadays, more and more countries encourage senior students to take a gap year, which means the student spends a year after finishing high school on work or travel to get more experient in life before starting university studies. It is also believed that this statement has its own advantages and disadvantages. It can be said that the student taking a gap year has some worthy positive effects from this statement. Firstly, the most important benefit of this advice is that the student have more chance to experience the new interesting things in their life, which they have not to try when they were the school students. For instance, doing charity activities combine with exploring the beautiful landscapes in remote rural areas. Especially, they would have an opportunity to experience any occupations in many different fields before starting university studies, this thing is not only to help them have personal economic independence but also have their own practical experience. Despite these aforementioned benefits, several drawbacks do exist. The serious disadvantage of taking a gap year is that their study skills might be buried and also make it difficult for them to return to studying. Moreover, the gap year might be pointless if they cannot take the opportunity to make themselves better, and therefore they would be stepped back compared to their peers, who are not taking a gap year. Take my friend as an example, she decided to spend a year after graduating high school to experience and explore different aspects of life but unfortunately for her, in that year almost everything was delayed due to Covid-19, and now it is hard for her to start studying in university. in conclusion, it is worth considering that there are both advantages and disadvantages of taking a gap year and be careful with every decision owing to the fact that it affects directly on our life.