scientists predict that humans will speak the same language in the future. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

The omnipresence of few languages around the globe has resulted in an anticipation that a single language will be spoken by people worldwide in the future. Although, this trend offers certain benefits, I believe the demerits are quite significant. On the one hand, a universal dialect may help to remove the language barriers, allowing public from different parts of the world to communicate more effectively and efficiently. This development facilitates many fields including business transactions, international cooperation and tourism growth. For instance, entrepreneurs can effectively advertise their products and solutions directly to local people without the need of a third party, which in turn benefit for the rapid proliferation of their business, more specifically, the profit. Furthermore, without any linguistic restrictions, countries can cooperate each other making the world a global village with a myriad of unprecedented opportunities. On the other hand, the single dialect system causes detrimental effects throughout the world. Due to the over-dependence on a specific lingo, several worldwide local languages get diminished, which may lead to the destruction of numerous cultures and national identities. Many local traditions of Vietnam, for example, are almost in an extinction phase currently; the implementation of a uniform communication mode accelerates the process and thus it causes the ruining of an entire culture. As a consequence, people may realize their first languages are impractical and no need to preserve them or pass them on to coming generations. To conclude, the uniform speaking system obviously necessitates the nations to develop economy and equalize the citizens; however, the ill-effects of this policy may yield a plethora of issues such as demolition of countries’ traditions and cultural diversity. As per my opinion, a country's core identity would not be sacrificed.